Hello world!

The main purpose of this blog is to capture my thoughts on ‘paper’ and share them without the expectation of a response but the hope that what I write may resonate with someone out there.
When I started reading in late primary school I inevitably found new words that I didn’t know or understand but found intriguing somehow (Usually based on the context the word was used). I would immediately put down my novel, open my dictionary and look the word up. Later on I started discovering phrases and sentences that for one reason or another connected with me. These I would write down in a journal that I bought in grade 9 or 10. I gave this up when my journal was about half full (not half empty) when I realised that I would never be able to share these with anyone without feeling weird about it.
After I started working I rebelled against the social network. I refused to sign up to twitter and myspace and even Facebook. I conceded to peer pressure and eventually got a Facebook account. And it was great! I reconnected with high school friends and ex team mates from my rugby playing days. It was good to catch up and find out what everyone has been up to. But after that? Then what? Couldn’t answer that question so I deactivated my account.
Que 2013 and my discovery of WordPress. I’m still a prolific reader (by my very modest definition) of novels and now I have fallen in love (lust?) with the art of movies and film making. And I still want to share my thoughts with the outside world. I now have the perfect tool.
So. These are my thoughts. These are the words that have inspired me, woken me up, spurred me on, warned me to be a little cautious or just put a smile on my face.
In The Dark Tower when Roland, Cuthbert and Alain are sent to hiding, Roland is the only one who is a Gunslinger (having won his guns earlier by besting Cort). The other two are Apprentice Gunslingers. This is how I come to you now, as an Apprentice Wordslinger.

Leave a Reply

